2014—15 Featured Member Exhibition Series

Each year, a juror selects four artists from the Annual Members Show to exhibit individually in their own Featured Member Exhibition. Each exhibition opens on Gallery Night and runs for 10 weeks. This year’s juror is Michael Davidson, Chair of Fine Arts at the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design. The 2014-15 Featured Member Artists were announced during the opening reception of the Annual Members Show on Friday, September 5.

Michael Davidson explained that it was hard to choose just four artists from over 80 exhibiting in the show, and we agree! There is a tremendous amount of talented artists in Milwaukee and the surrounding region. We can’t put on enough exhibitions to showcase all of them. The Featured Member Exhibition series is our way of giving focus on a few of those talents, whether they are esteemed or budding artists. (Click here for past jurors and artists).

Nova Czarnecki
Oct. 17, 2014 – Jan. 3, 2015
Open reception: Fall Gallery Night, Friday, October 17, 5—9 pm.

Kevin Giese
Jan. 16 – April 4, 2015
Opening reception: Winter Gallery Night, Friday, January 16, 5—9 pm.

Gary John Gresl
April 17 – July 11, 2015
Opening reception: Spring Gallery Night, Friday, April 17, 5—9 pm.

Kevin Wrencher
July 24 – October 3, 2015
Opening reception: Summer Gallery Night, Friday, July 24, 5—9 pm.


2013-14 Juror
Kat Murrell is a lecturer in art history at the UWM, MIAD, and other area colleges. She has written for a variety of Milwaukee area publications including Third Coast Daily and Shepherd Express

2012-13 Juror
Frank Juarez is an artist, gallery owner, art educator, arts advocate and community leader living and teaching in Sheboygan, WI. Juarez is the art department chair at Sheboygan North High School and is actively involved in local, regional and state arts organizations such as the Wisconsin Art Education Association, National Art Education Association, Milwaukee Artist Resource Network, Cedarburg Cultural Center, and Arts Wisconsin. In 2011 he opened EFFJAY PROJEKTS Gallery in Sheboygan.

2013-14 Featured Member Artists:
William Mueller, Paul Matzner, Leann Wooten, Joe Couture

2012-13 Featured Member Artists:
Tiffany Knopow, Jean Sobon, Jessica Schafer, Chris Andrews