December 4, 2015 – January 23, 2016

Opening reception: Friday, December 4, 5–9 pm.
Juror presentation and awards ceremony at 7:00 pm.
Closing Reception: Winter Gallery Night – Friday, January 22, 5–9 pm.

The Coalition of Photographic Arts (CoPA) and Walker’s Point Center for the Arts (WPCA) are pleased to present CoPA’s 9th annual Juried Photography Exhibition (previously Midwest Juried Exhibition). This highly competitive exhibit brings some of the most talented photographic artists together in one show.

The exhibition showcases the vast creativity and possibilities of photography as an art medium. Given today’s world where most everyone has a camera phone and share images on social media platforms, these photography exhibitions are even more poignant and necessary. The long tradition of photographic art is more than the well-composed image, but also the presentation, scale and the environment in which it is shown. This exhibition, steadily edging into a decade of excellent photographic work, continues to defy the criticism that photography, as an art medium, is dead.

This year’s juror is Melissa Dorn Richards, artist and co-owner of Material Studios + Gallery. She was tasked to select 45 images out of 240, submitted by 65 artists, to exhibit. Three outstanding pieces will also be selected by Richards and awarded honors and cash prize. The selection will be made prior to the opening, after all pieces are installed, and judged not only by the quality of the photograph but also the presentation of the image, frame, matting and size.

This year’s Exhibitors: Karen Alesch, Bruce Ambuel, James Baker Jr., PJ Boylan, Breanne Brennan, Jeff Butz, James Chrzan, Max Cozzi, Dennis Darmek, Bonnie Delap, Patricia Derozier, Christina DeSpears, Tom Ferderbar, Susan Foley, Marcia Getto, Michael Havice, Jack Kleinman, Annette Knapstein, Adel Korkor, Kenneth Kornacki, Geri Laehn, Guntis Lauzums, Cindy Lesky, Howard Leu, Jack Long, Helene Macaulay, Nate Mathews, James Meldrum, Sherrod Milewski, Tara Monnink, Tim Mulcahy, Patricia Munford, Bernard Newman, Michael Nowotny, Judith Pannozo, Ajit Parekh, Dan Patrinos, Vicki Reed, Sara Risley, James Schaff, Susan Schramm, Carol Starr, Cardi Toellner-Smith, Robert Tolchin, Steven Yeo.


‘Open Photography’ on display at Walker’s Point Center for the Arts
By Kat Minerath for Shepherd Express – December 8, 2015