2023 – 24
Selection Juror:  Fatima Laster

Fatima Laster is a self-taught interdisciplinary visual artist, curator and owner-operator of 5 Points Art Gallery + Studios. With a Black American vantage point, Laster’s independent and communal practice broaches social-political subject matter (i.e. racism, sexism, classism, cultural appropriation, housing/land appropriation also known as “gentrification”, etc.), producing resistance art imbued with humor or irony in an attempt to disarmingly reveal rejected or overlooked perspectives and people.

Laster’s 12-year exhibition history includes being a selected artist in the Museum of Wisconsin Artists’ 2022 Biennial and currently working towards the 2023 Nohl Fellowship group show and a solo exhibition in 2024. Laster was also awarded the Madison Museum of Contemporary Art’s first ever Guest Curator position for the 2022 Wisconsin Triennial.

5 Points Art Gallery + Studios, housing a formal gallery, gift shop, artist work studios, artist residencies, and culinary arts kitchen, serves as a safe haven and hearth for exploration, collaboration, professional development, and business expansion in the visual, performing, culinary and varying other art genres with a focus on increasing representation, access, and equitable opportunity for artists of color and other marginalized demographics.

Past Selection Jurors + Featured Members

2022 – 23
Selection Juror: CK Ledesma
Featured Members: Charles Wickler, Abigail Engstrand, Mi Salgado, Adam White

2021 – 22
Selection Juror: Kantara Souffrant
Featured Members: Jeanette Arellano, Jerry Styberg, Posy Knight, Stephanie Bartz

2020 – 21
Selection Juror: Ammar Nsoroma
Featured Members:Alexa Hollywood, Andrea Lira Landa, Yeyliz M Martinez, Roxane Mayeur

2019 – 20
Selection Juror: Jenie Gao
Featured Members:Mary Galinowski, Denise Schanz, Sheila Held, Cyndi Bergloff

2018 – 19
Selection Juror: Colin Matthes
Featured Members:Katheryn Corbin, Jeff Morin, Conhg Lopez, Madhavi Parekh

2017 – 18
Selection Juror: Della Wells
Featured Members:Jack Long, Kathy Jo House, Rodney Mustelier, Gary Warren Niebuhr

2016 – 17
Selection Juror: Mark Lawson
Featured Members:Amy Schmutte, David Powell, Benjamin Fairly, PJ Boylan

2015 – 16
Selection Juror: Josie Osborne
Featured Members:Adam James Stoner, Arcadia Katzenberger, Brad Krause, Brian Breider

2014 – 15
Selection Juror: Micheal Davidson
Featured Members:Nova Czarnecki, Kevin Giese, Gary John Gresl, Kevin Wrencher

2013 – 14
Selection Juror: Kat Kneevers
Featured Members:William Mueller, Paul Matzner, Leann Wooten, Joe Couture

2012 – 13
Selection Juror: Frank Juarez
Featured Members:Tiffany Knopow, Jean Sobon, Jessica Schafer, Chris Andrews


Annual Members Show

Annual Members Show
Opening September 8, 6pm-9pm

Each year during our Annual Member Show, a juror selects four exhibiting artists with outstanding work and award each a small scale solo exhibition in our Featured Member Exhibition Gallery. Each exhibition opens on Gallery night and runs for approximately 10 weeks. the series aims to give more local artists opportunity to showcase their work and have it be seen by more audience. Featured Member Exhibition (FME), which began in 2012, has been well received by audience and exhibiting artists alike. The jurors are given liberty to set their own guidelines as to how they choose the winners. Featured Member Exhibition alumni range from established to emerging artists and represent a broad stroke of style and medium.